Full Review: Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl figure by X-Plus

Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl figure by X-Plus.

FIGURE SPECS

東宝30㎝シリーズ 「ゴジラ1995」

JAPAN ORIGINAL RELEASE: April 2017

SERIES: Toho 30cm Series

MATERIAL: VINYL

FROM: “Godzilla vs. Destoroyah” (1995)
ゴジラVSデストロイア

HEIGHT: 12.875 INCHES / 32.7 CM

WIDTH: (toe to toe) 9 INCHES / 22.8 CM

LENGTH (nose to tip of tail): 20.375 INCHES / 51.7 CM

FIGURE WEIGHT: 2 lbs / 907 G

REVIEW AND PHOTOS: © JOHN STANOWSKI

GODZILLA: TM & © TOHO CO.,LTD.

The Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl figure by X-Plus was first revealed at the Miyazawa Model Exhibition (a private industry event) in late 2016.

Pre-orders for the figure opened February 3, 2017 and ended on February 19, 2017. The figure was released in April 2017. The average price for the Standard Version was about $190. The RIC Exclusive version of this figure came with a mini Oxygen Destroyer and sold for ¥25,920 (about $232).

This release marks the first time X-Plus has put out an original 30cm Series Heisei Godzilla original sculpt (Not Sakai) since 2013 with the release of the 30cm Series Godzilla 1984. Also consider that we haven’t seen ANY other X-Plus original 30cm Godzilla’s after 2013 besides the two versions of the Godzilla 2014 figure.

Yes, it’s been a long, long time but X-Plus is back with bang. The new 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 is f’n AMAZING.

It has a fantastic movie-accurate (mostly) sculpt based on the suit used in Godzilla vs. Destoroyah (1995). At almost 13 inches tall, it stands higher than most other figures in the series. It also has quite a bit of heft to it making it “feel” more expensive than it already is.

It employs translucent vinyl and painting tricks to reproduce Godzilla’s fission glows without the use of any actual light. It’s an awesome effect which was also used on X-Plus’ two previous (modern) DesuGoji figures.

In my opinion, this 30cm Series version is X-Plus’ finest attempt at capturing the look of Burning Godzilla in vinyl. I feel that it is THE must-have version if you’re all about wanting something that looked like it walked out of the movie.

While the Gigantic Series version is considered by many to be a flagship X-Plus figure because of it’s size and dynamic ferocity, it is heavily stylized. This new 30cm Series version, though, is very carefully modeled after what we actually saw in the movie; and it mostly succeeds. If I could save only one from a fire, I’d save the 30.

So far, the 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 is a big hit with collectors — and rightly so.

Now, let’s open that box!

THE BOX

X-Plus 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 box.
Interior Packaging.

The Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl figure by X-Plus comes in the standard brown blind box design with full color art glued to the cover. As expected, the box is a bit larger than we’re used to. (Its dimensions are roughly 16″ x 14″ x 9″ / 40.6cm x 35.5cm x 22.8cm.)

Inside, the figure is fastened into an open plastic shell with several annoying wire ties, each of which needs to be undone or cut before the figure can step out. Extra precautions in the form of plastic booties and gloves help to keep the fragile paint on the claws safe from scratches.

A frequent complaint with X-Plus packaging is the close proximity between the left toes and the inside of the cover. Any impacts on the covers get transferred to those toes and potentially cause nicks in the paint. I’m pleased to report that in the case of this guy here, those toes are kept well enough away from the inside of the box.

The tail comes in a separate piece and is fastened and taped in beside the figure.

TWO LEFT FEET? DON’T PANIC
One foot may need rotating right out of the box.

Right out of the box it may appear that your new figure has two left feet, the right foot awkwardly mimicking the angle of the left. Don’t fret. The foot rotates under the knee and it can be adjusted with a slight twist. That foot may have settled to the left when placed in the box, or possibly was intentionally rotated to make more room in the box. Either way, you can fix it easily.

PUTTING IT TOGETHER

Unassembled tail joint.

The tail must be connected by you. The best way to do that is to heat the butt end of the tail (left) with a hair dryer until it can be squeezed as easily as a sponge. Heat makes vinyl soft and pliable. Cold temperatures do just the opposite; they make vinyl figures hard.

You want the tail’s flange (suction cup / right) to be hard so that it will easily pop into the soft body end of the tail. After it’s connected, let it cool and the figure will promptly firm up.

EASY ASSEMBLY
I have to say that this was one of the easiest X-Plus tails I’ve ever attached. It popped right in. A welcome change after the challenging tail on the Large Monster Series Titanosaurus from last month. That was one of the hardest tails I’ve ever dealt with.

SCULPT

30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl.

And, here it is: the Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995. I think it’s one of the best figures to come out in a while.

As mentioned earlier, this figure is carefully sculpted to be as movie-accurate as possible. I think it’s damn near perfect. There are some exceptions, though, which I’ll get to further down in this review.

For now, I just need to say that “THIS is the one.” This is X-Plus’ best go at bringing us the next best thing to owning the actual suit shrunken down to 13 inches. At least in vinyl (currently).

It’s funny — even though I only just received this figure, I feel like it’s been around for a while. I suppose that’s because the Gigantic Series and Large Monster Series (Daikaiju Series) versions have already been in my collection for some time now. This new 30cm Series version, though, is what I always wished the other two were.

Is there room for three X-Plus Burning Godzilla‘s in your collection? Hell, yeah. You need that Large Monster Series version to go with the Large Monster Series Destoroyah and the rest of your Large Monster Series vinyls. And, you sure as shit still need that powerful Gigantic Series figure that captures and projects the spirit of the 1995 design so well.

If you don’t yet have any of these, and accuracy is your thing, then this new 30cm Series figure is the best one for you.

30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl.

Back to that fantastic likeness. The badassery and doppelgänger looks above are sure to win you over.

To check the accuracy of the sculpt, I compared the figure to the Godzilla vs. Destoroyah bluray. I frequently paused the movie and compared what I saw on the television to the figure in front of me. Damn near every time I saw a perfect (or a good enough to make me happy) match.

Close-up of the X-Plus 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 head sculpt.

I tried to find little details and compare those as well. And that’s where I very pleasantly surprised. For example, DesuGoji’s corner canines every so slightly project down further than the rest of his double-rowed teeth. That small detail is present on the figure and in just the right amount.

I also noticed the horizontal rings on Godzilla’s neck curving over his throat, meeting the vertical tendons on either side. Again, just the right proportions, depth and just everything.

One detail from the figure that I could not find in the movie is the way the snout sort of angles upward, the same way your four fingers do, unconvincingly, in a sock puppet. The Large Monster Series version also does this. I don’t understand why they have a problem with this. The top of the snout should be level with Godzilla’s forehead.

Also, the details on the front of the snout seem a little… soft. Nothing at all like the botch job on the Large Monster Series version. And, thankfully it’s really only noticeable on the 30cm Series version in close-up photos.

Despite these two minor nitpicks, I feel that this head has a great sculpt and manages to capture Godzilla’s power and anger with that FIERCE roar pose and those piercing, yet still somehow lifeless and unnerving eyes.

Multiple angles of the head sculpt.

The head sculpt looks fantastic from all angles. This is unmistakably Godzilla 1995’s face from any direction.

…this 30cm Series version is X-Plus’ finest attempt at capturing the real look of Burning Godzilla in vinyl.

POSE

As usual, X-Plus has sculpted Godzilla in a pleases-all, standard museum pose.

If you’re one to over-analyze your figures, you may find an ever so slight series of twists and turns, like a sea snake propelling itself through the water. This is most easily seen from a rear view (see below) or from the top. (Skip to the Footprint to see that.)

Though you may not see this fluid twisting from the front, it does cause his head to veer to the right and his arms to the left; particularly the left arm. Nice touch.

Angle 1.
Angle 2.
Angle 3.
Angle 4.
Angle 5.
Angle 6.
Angle 7.
Angle 8.

The X-Plus 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 will look great on your shelf facing forward or turned slightly to either side. And if you display it in a central, open space, know that it’s going to look good all around.

JOINTS & SEAMS

For the most part, this figure’s moveable joints and glued seams hardly bring any attention to themselves.

The one obvious offender is where both arms attach to the body just above the biceps. There’s a glaring case of tight-string-around-the-finger there. The left arm isn’t quite as bad as the right.

SOFT HANDS
What’s particularly interesting with the arms and hands, is that even though they are separate pieces and have no use for the softer translucent vinyl used on the main body (for the fiery patch effect), they are kind of soft. You can easily bend the hands and forearms. DO NOT TRY THIS if your figure is cold and firm. I don’t want you busting off a finger because I mentioned it.

The tail joint, which you connect, and the other tail joint you may not have known was there (already connected in the box) are nearly perfectly hidden between the ridged segments sculpted into the figure.

LEGS ROTATE
Both legs have loose joints below the flab of each knee. They can be rotated, or even removed. Folds in the sculpt over the figure’s left knee, though, restrict any movement. The right knee has total freedom. This is good to know in case you notice that foot may be a little off rotation. Know that you can easily correct it.

Visible seam on side of the head.

There’s a zig-zag of a seam running up and down vertically on both sides of the head, just behind the ears. You’re not likely to notice this from a distance. But I bring it up now because so many of my close-up photos show it clearly. You’ll barely notice it when it’s in front of you.

PAINT JOB

The Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl figure has a base coat of a dusty, asphalt black. All X-Plus figures start here and this shade looks realistic, reserved and not toyish at all as you would find on many lesser brands.

HIGHLIGHTS
Usually, X-Plus brings new meaning to the word “subtle” when it comes to brushing on highlights over the black skin, often leaving you wishing for more. I’m pleased to see that they were significantly more liberal with the highlights which are abundant on the figure’s back behind the arms, the legs and the sides of the tail. These highlights are still extremely subtle and often won’t be noticed consciously unless you take a closer look.

Close-up of the chest.

FIERY PATCHES
As for the most obvious color scheme literally screaming on this figure: fiery patches set the figure ablaze with vibrant orange and yellow paint applications. These bright colors are meant to be a reflective light alternative to reproducing the intense fission glows which plagued Godzilla in the film. In other words, they set out to make the figure look like it is ablaze with light under the skin, without actually using any light gimmick.

This technique only goes so far and can appear to be merely paint in some lighting conditions. But to give the effect that extra push, X-Plus ingeniously employed translucent (or perhaps even fully clear) vinyl on the chest, belly and legs. Bright yellow paint was applied ON THE INSIDE of the figure, leave the clear vinyl to refract light on the outside. Reddish / orange “shadowing” was sprayed around the edges to help create a gradation of color and faux light.

The black skin color was then applied on the outside and forked into spikes as it meets the burning patch areas.

Because the vinyl is clear, the black spikes can appear almost as if they are “floating” over the brighter colors. Fortunately this seem mostly in close-up photos. To the naked eye, the effect looks great.

Light easily passes through the translucent fins.

DORSAL FINS
The dorsal fins on the back are molded in orange-tinted clear vinyl which easily allows back light sources make them appear to glow. If you have this guy by an open window or in front of a lamp, you can expect the fins to come alive.

[ NOTE: in the photo above I have a flashlight beside the figure making the fins appear to light-up. To be clear: there IN NO LIGHT GIMMICK included with this figure. A light gimmick was added to the smaller Large Monster Series version of the ’95 and wasn’t particularly successful. ]

Fin color comparison between the 30cm Series and Large Monster Series versions.

TOO BRIGHT?
The fiery fission patches on this new 30cm Series version are a LOT brighter than I was expecting. I have to say I prefer the colors on the Large Monster Series version.

As for the dorsal fins, they are equally overly bright on the new 30 as compared to the 25 (which seems like they’re darker than they should be). I think a color in between the two would have been perfect.

30 FIXES A GOOF ON THE 25
It’s interesting to note that the translucent orange runs in the dorsal fins much lower on the Large Monster Series version. On the 30cm Series version, they abruptly stop after only four big fins. Don’t worry. X-Plus isn’t skimping. The 30cm version here has it right. This is how it actually appeared in the movie. (Looks like someone took a design liberty on that 25.)

GREY FINS
The rest of the smaller dorsal fins which run along the tail are not painted in the usual ashy white. Instead, they’re gray; almost a metallic, bluish gray. It looks like the same color they used on the Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1984 Shinjuku Decisive Battle Version with nighttime paint scheme. I’m not saying that’s good or bad. I only care if it’s accurate. And I can’t tell from watching the movie.

Accurate or no, it looks good. Usually the dorsal fins are painted with too stark a white (for me). This looks good!

Close-up of Godzilla's firey patches on his belly and thighs.

HOLD ON THERE… NOT SURE THAT’S RIGHT
Okay, now this bit here bugs me. This patch on the belly does not match what we see in most of the movie. The belly of the 30cm Series version here is ablaze with this mostly vertical, upside down spearhead of yellow and orange.

It should appear as a more horizontal, sort of Superman emblem / Mazinger Z chest piece sort of shape. It’s shaped that way on the Gigantic Series and Large Monster Series versions. It even looks that way on the Yuji Sakai’s new Godzilla 1995 resin sculpt AND the S.H.MonsterArts. (And, of course, 98% of the movie.)

Since this patch follows the boundaries of the sculpt, this leads me to wonder if there’s something off about the sculpt itself.

I was all ready to complain a LOT more about this until I finished re-watching Godzilla vs. Destoroyah. The fiery fission glow on the belly does indeed resemble this shape right after Godzilla attempts to revive Junior and during Destoroyah’s second attack in its adult form. But this is only for a few shots.

That leaves us with a little consistency issue here. The presence of this configuration on the belly sets this figure up to be how Godzilla appeared right before his meltdown, and yet there is none of the damage (mostly seen on his left shoulder) from Destoroyah’s powerful “Laser Horn” attacks which occurred a few scenes back.

I find it curious that X-Plus got so much on this figure right only to slip up here.

Super close-up of the eyes.

EYES
The second most attention getting paint app are the figure’s piercing eyes. Each black pupil is surrounded by a light orange iris which is framed in a thin strip of black. Together they float above darker orange sclera (whites).

These eyes are insanely well done. I don’t know how it was accomplished but it looks they must be some form of decals. And they’re also kinda of shiny when hit with the light, almost like there was a clear sheet of plastic over them.

However it was done, the end effect is hypnotic. My only complaint here is the the “whites” are too light. They appeared much darker in the movie, allowing the irises in the center to stand out more.

A close-up of the head and shoulders on the X-Plus 30cm Series Godzilla 1995.

TEETH
Always impressive on most X-Plus figures: individually sculpted teeth individually painted with super precision. It really looks like the teeth are coming up out of the gums.

The inside of the mouth and tongue are painted in a reserved, un-toy-like off red. I know I keep bringing up that “un-toy-like” thing, but that’s so important. Using reserved colors make them look more lifelike and more… adult.

The fiery fission patches on this new 30cm Series version are a LOT brighter than I was expecting.

SIZE

It’s BIG.

At 12.875 inches tall, this new figure is a little tall for the series and it can easily see over the heads of most of the other figures. Yet it still fits in well with the rest of the series.

Be prepared to be blown away by its size and mass (and its weight, too!)

FOOTPRINT / ON THE SHELF

Top view.

It’s over 20 and a quarter inches long from nose to tail. You can take away a couple of inches if you go by toes to tail. Its tail has only slight curves on the X-axis which makes it reach nearly straight back making this one a definite shelf hog.

If your shelves aren’t at least 18 inches deep, you have to place this guy down at an angle.

[ Did you skip down from the Pose Section? Go back up! ]

ADVERTISEMENT

Now in Stock! Megumi Okaka (Miki Saegusa) signed photos.


SIZE COMPARISONS

Size comparison with the 30cm Series Godzilla 2014 vinyl.

The Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 is taller than the 30cm Series Godzilla 1954, which was the tallest for years. But, the Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 2014 Roaring Version is still the reigning height champion; it beats the new ’95 literally by a hair. A hair!

Size comparison with other original X-Plus Heisei Godzilla sculpts.

HEISEI 30’S
The Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 can see over the heads of all other 30cm Series Heisei Godzilla’s. From left to right: Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1984 (North American Diamond Reissue based on the Japanese release of the Nighttime paint scheme version), Godzilla 1989 and Godzilla 1992.

Size comparison with 30cm Showa figures.

SHOWAS
This new Burning Godzilla is also taller than all of the 30cm Series Showa figures. Seen here are the 30cm Series Godzilla 1962 and Godzilla 1964.

Size comparison with 30cm Series Yuji Sakai Heisei Godzilla figures.

THE SAKAI’S
We all know that the Toho 30cm Series Yuji Sakai Modeling Collection figures are actually in some unsaid “27.5cm Series” so it’s no surprise that this extra tall 30cm X-Plus original sculpt towers over them.

Size comparison with X-Plus 30cm bad guys.

HEISEI HEAVEN
The 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 joins the X-Plus roster during a time where the Heisei series continues to get lots of love. On the left: last year’s release of the 30cm Series Battra Larva. On the right: the 30cm Series Space Godzilla (1994), which has been out for quite a while but can look the new Burning Godzilla right in the eye, and still wins out when it comes to bulk.

And there’s more on the way. The Toho 30cm Series Mechagodzilla II (1993) has just been announced (4/2017). Your Heisei shelf is about to get crowded. That’s a good thing.

Size comparison with the Large Monster Series version of the Godzilla 1995.

BURNING G’S
Here is the new 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 beside the Large Monster Series version which came out in September 2015. Keep in mind that both figures are on the tall side for each of their series and that the Large Monster Series version is about a “head” taller than most other figures in that line.

Size comparison with the Large Monster Series Destoroyah.

The Large Monster Series Destoroyah may be from the same movie as the new Godzilla 1995, but they’re from different lines and the scale is way off when placed next to each other.

However, if you’re a casual fan and collector and not aware that Godzilla’s head should only come up to Destoroyah’s chin, this may be a good set-up for you since they seem to be fairly well matched in height.

If, though, you are anal about scale and insist on having these two together, you could place the Big D further back in the shelf for a fake, “farther-away-look” which would explain the inaccurate scaling. ….know what I mean?

Size comparison with other Burning Godzilla figures.

FIRE HAZZARD
Here are all of X-Plus’ modern Burning Godzilla pieces including the Large Monster Series version (left) and the Gigantic Series (center). In the front, stands the S.H.MonsterArts version.

Size comparison with recent X-Plus releases.

COMPARISON WITH RECENT RELEASES
If you’re new to X-Plus and have been jumping on the recent releases: here’s a size comparison for you. Left to right: 30cm Series Godzilla 2004, Large Monster Series Shin Godzilla (Standard) and the Large Monster Series Titanosaurus.

Size comparison with a bluray disc.

REAL WORLD COMPARISON
Don’t have any X-Plus yet? Here’s a real world comparison with something you probably have on hand: the Godzilla vs. Destoroyah Blu ray.

RIC BOY EXCLUSIVE

1/6 scale mini oxygen destroyer which comes with the RIC Exclusive version of the 30cm Series Godzilla 1995. Photo by Jim Jenkins.
PHOTO: JIM JENKINS

The RIC Boy exclusive version of this figure comes with a mini, 1/6 scale Oxygen Destroyer.

This is the third time the oxygen destroyer was offered as an extra. The first came in a closed state, all clean and new as seen in the movie that started it all. It came with the 30cm Series Godzilla 1954 monochrome version.

A dark and grungy open version was offered with the very first release of the Gigantic Series Godzilla 1995.

This version comes in a slightly opened state. It’s metal skin comes with a chrome-plated “look” and it’s “glass” is tinted green. It’s meant to match the image of the Oxygen Destroyer in the computer generated opening sequence of Godzilla vs. Destoroyah.

Like the two previous versions which came before it, it’s made of ABS plastic and employs real metal in the four rods.

RIC Exclusive versions can be purchased only directly from X-Plus. If you order yours from any other store, you won’t be getting this mini replica.

SUMMARY

30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl with box.

The Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl figure by X-Plus totally blew me away. I’ve been wishing X-Plus would make this one for a long time now. And now that it’s in front of me, it does not disappoint. It came out a lot better than I expected it would. I’m really, really happy with it. It’s a fantastic take on the ’95 suit and it’s extra height and heft are great bonuses. To me, it’s (almost) perfect.

If you have your eye on this figure, look for one NOW. You will LOVE it.

Based on the way things have been going, it’s very likely it will be reissued for North America (through Diamond Distributors) at some point. But, who knows when and how long you’d have to wait?

MORE INFORMATION

Archived 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 page on Ric Boy Site.
30cm Series Godzilla 1995 High Resolution Photos at SciFiJapan.com.
Rich Eso Reviews the Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl figure by X-Plus
Gojira851 Reviews the 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl figure by X-Plus
Diego Doom Reviews the 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 by X-Plus
KaijuRob Reviews the Toho 30cm Series Godzilla 1995 vinyl figure by X-Plus

• RELATED: Full Review: Toho Large Monster Series Godzilla 1995 by X-Plus.
• RELATED: Full Review: Gigantic Series Godzilla 1995 by X-Plus.

X-TRAS

Extra high angle.

Close-up of the face.

Low angle stylized photo of the X-Plus 30cm Series Godzilla 1995.

[/fusion_builder_row][/fusion_builder_container]
By | 2017-08-23T12:49:17+00:00 April 28th, 2017|Categories: Kaiju Addicts Reviews|Tags: , , |3 Comments

3 Comments

  1. Sebastian Veitenhansl April 29, 2017 at 5:57 am

    Fantastic review!! This one looks amazing, cant wait for mine!

  2. victor k gonzalez May 16, 2017 at 10:40 pm

    awesome review! got mine!

  3. Steve Polzak June 8, 2017 at 12:00 am

    Must admit this new Melt Down Godzilla looks great,only thing they needed to do a fade out on his spines. The translucent work they did ends to soon. Needed to go down some more spines and get less translucent. Other than that its great.

Comments are closed.